Ready. Set. Goat.

Image

Photo courtesy of Google Images (naturally).

     In a few short months, we will be venturing way up north to live in Sitka, AK. (Pictured Above.) Now, before you get all excited and piddle in your pants, just know beautiful days pictured above are not abundant. Case in point: For the year, Sitka receives approximately 90 +/- inches of rain per year. Eeesh. Cue the rain boots, Vitamin D and Zoloft. My excitement for adventure may be trumped by depression and alcoholism. But before I get ahead of myself and my trending pessimistic ways, I try to think on the bright side…I’ve lived in Montana nearly my entire life and am used to snow, so this actually might be refreshing. Of course I say that now, but you may have to remind me when I’m knee deep in mud, tears and my sarcasm will no longer be my medicine for survival.

     Who knows what will happen in Sitka. Maybe we’ll start having babies and I’ll be a devoted mother who makes her own diapers, organic baby food and protests vaccinations and high fructose corn syrup. Not really. Who am I kidding?? Instead, I may take a friend’s advice and get goats and a donkey and have my own little farm. Just think, my slogan could read, “The Best Cheese and Ass in town.” (Oh, how my mother is shaking her head right now.)

     In all seriousness, I’m excited for the new adventure with my husband and four-legged fur babies. I may be worried about finding a new job, but regardless, I’m with the ones I love and that is all that matters. Plus, I have to remind myself, it’s temporary. We’ll have a two year adventure and then we’ll be off to another. So in the meantime, “stay calm, and carry on.” Stay tuned for more sarcasm and inevitable swearing. Slainte.

4 thoughts on “Ready. Set. Goat.

  1. Bri Davey says:

    Oh but Ali, this means you can get rain boots in every color!

  2. Ann says:

    Can’t wait to follow your adventures! And please get into the cheese making business. By the way, what are your plans for the goat? You didn’t specify…

Leave a Reply

